My first go at the 34 Insanely Simple Two-Ingredient Recipes was the Macaroon Cookies.http://www.food.com/recipe/2-ingredient-toasted-coconut-macaroon-cookie-creations-399828

The idea of making Macaroon Cookies with 2 ingredients seemed easy, but it proved not to be for me. It wasn’t the 2 ingredients that posed a problem, it was figuring out how to bake them.

I mixed the coconut and sweetened condensed milk in a bowl. I couldn’t find unsweetened coconut in any of the stores by me, so I used the sweetened kind. I don’t think this would cause a probably in baking, but what do I know? I ended up using the whole bag of coconut which was roughly 4 cups. (though the bag said it was 5 ½, I beg to differ)

I made many little mounds of this mixture. Since I had not made them before, I only baked/broiled a few at a time.

First I tried the broiler on HIGH, watching very carefully that nothing caught on fire. After probably about 4 minutes the coconut got pretty browned, but the inside of the macaroon was not cooked fully.

Second I tried with the broiler on LOW. I had them in there for about 6 minutes, but again the inside didn’t seem done enough. I was afraid if I left them in there too long the tops would be burnt and the inside would still not be fully cooked.

I was getting a bit frustrated. What had I done wrong? Instead of throwing the rest of the mix out I tried a different way of baking them.

I preheated the over to 350 degrees and baked for  10-12 minutes. It seemed to work out much better and still had a toasted look and taste to them.

I don’t know if the reason the broiler didn’t work out so well was because I have a small electric oven. I really wish I had gas appliances again.
I think I’ll stick to the other recipe I have for coconut macaroons since they cook up better and I don’t have to worry if the inside is cooked through.

